Current Science
A Fortnightly Journal of Research
ISSN 0011-3891
Editorial Board, Current Science Journal
Chief Editor

S. K. Satheesh
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
satheesh@ias.ac.in

Section Editors

Sandeep M. Eswarappa
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
sandeep@iisc.ac.in - (Medical Sciences)

Gopalan Jagadeesh
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
jaggie@iisc.ac.in - (Aerospace Engineering)

P. C. Kesavan
Chennai
pckesavan38@gmail.com - (Agricultural Sciences and Forestry)

Ravi Korisettar
Karnatak University, Dharwad
korisettar@gmail.com - (History and Archaeology)

G. Rangarajan
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
rangaraj@iisc.ac.in - (Mathematics)

R. Srinivasan
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
srinimalu@gmail.com - (Earth System and Planetary Sciences)

M. H. Bala Subrahmanya
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
bala@iisc.ac.in - (Management Studies)

Editorial staff
M. K. Anitha, R. Anuradha, D. L. Geetha, K. P. Madhu, Arjun R. Krishnan, V. Rajitha, N. Subashini, V. Venkateswari and M. S. Venugopal

Accounts and Circulation
H. R. Ananthamurthy, V. Priya, B. G. Yoganarasimha

Subject Editors

Agricultural Sciences, Horticultural Sciences and Sustainability

M. Anandraj
Bengaluru
arajiisr@gmail.com - (Plant Pathology of Horticultural Crops, Mycology, Plant Growth Promoting Organisms, Host-Pathogen Interaction)

Tusar Kanti Behera
ICAR-Indian Institute of Vegetable Research, Varanasi
tusariari@gmail.com – (Breeding and Production of Horticultural Crops including Fruit, Vegetable and Flower Crops)

Rajarshi Roy Burman
ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi
rajarshi.burman@icar.gov.in – (Agricultural Extension, Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Marketing, Agricultural Statistics, Agricultural Communication, Computer Application and ICT in Agriculture)

N. Nataraja Karaba
University of Agricultural Sciences, Bengaluru
nataraja_karaba@yahoo.com – (Plant Biology/Physiology and Plant Molecular Biology, Abiotic Stress Physiology, Plant-Endophyte Interaction)

P. C. Kesavan
Chennai
pckesavan38@gmail.com - (Agricultural Sustainability Sciences)

V. Krishnakumar
ICAR-Central Plantation Crops Research Institute, Kerala
dr.krishnavkumar@gmail.com – (Agronomy, Soil Health Management and Crop Nutrition, Climate Change and Climate Resilient Agriculture, Crop Pluralism and Cropping System Management, Organic Farming)

B. Ramakrishnan
ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi
ramakrishnanbala@yahoo.com – (Microbial Contributions to Climate Change, Microbiome Interactions, Environmental Impact of Agriculture)

R. L. Ravikumar
University of Agricultural Sciences, Bengaluru
rlravikumar@rediffmail.com - (Plant Genetics and Breeding, Molecular Markers)

Archaeology

Ravi Korisettar
Karnatak University, Dharwad
korisettar@gmail.com - (Archaeology)

Atmospheric Sciences

K. Krishnamoorthy
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
krishnamoorthyspl@gmail.com - (Atmospheric and Ionospheric Science)

Anil V. Kulkarni
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
anilkulkarni@iisc.ac.in - (Cryosphere, Glaciers and Climate Change)

A. R. Ravishankara
Colorado State University, USA
a.r.ravishankara@colostate.edu - (Atmospheric Chemistry, Climate Change, Ozone Depletion)

S. K. Satheesh
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
satheesh@iisc.ac.in - (Aerosols and Climate Change)

Biology

Kavita Babu
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
kavitababu@iisc.ac.in - (Invertebrate Genetics and Neurobiology, Invertebrate Developmental Biology)

M. Balasubramanyam
Madras Diabetes Research Foundation, Chennai
balumentor@gmail.com - (Life Sciences, Disease-Biology, Molecular Medicine)

Sorab Dalal
Advanced Centre for Treatment, Research and Education in Cancer, Navi Mumbai
sdalal@actrec.gov.in - (Molecular Biology and Biochemistry)

Vinita Gowda
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhopal
gowdav@iiserb.ac.in - (Plant Ecology, Evolution and Taxonomy, Systematics (Phylogenetics) and Population Genetics, Behavioural Biology, Conservation Biology)

Saman Habib
CSIR-Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow
saman_habib@cdri.res.in - (Molecular Biology and Biochemistry)

Mohit Kumar Jolly
Centre for BioSystems Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
mkjolly@iisc.ac.in - (Computational Biology, Theoretical/Mathematical Biology, Systems Biology, Biophysics, Cancer Drug Resistance)

N. V. Joshi
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
nvjoshi@iisc.ac.in - (Statistical Analysis, Mathematical Modelling in Biology)

Ullasa Kodandaramaiah
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram
ullasa@iisertvm.ac.in- (Evolutionary Biology)

Vinod Kumar
University of Delhi, Delhi
vkumar@zoology.du.ac.in - (Regulatory Biology, Biological Rhythms, Neuroendocrine Control of Seasonality, Behavioural Neuroscience)

Subhash Rajpurohit
Ahmedabad University, Ahmedabad
subhash.rajpurohit@ahduni.edu.in - (Ecology and Evolution)

V. V. Ramamurthy
Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi
vvrento@gmail.com - (Taxonomy)

Girish Ratnaparkhi
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune
girish@iiserpune.ac.in - (Biochemistry, Genetics)

V. V. Robin
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Tirupati
robin@iisertirupati.ac.in - (Ecology and Evolution)

Gayatri Saberwal
Institute of Bioinformatics and Applied Biotechnology, Bengaluru
gayatri@ibab.ac.in - (Biomedical Policy Research, Clinical Trial Databases)

Munivenkatappa Sanjappa
Bengaluru
sanjappam@ymail.com - (Botany - Taxonomy and Conservation)

Yogesh Shouche
National Centre for Cell Science, Pune
yogesh@nccs.res.in - (Microbial Diversity, Vector Biology, Genetic Diversity of Microbes)

Hema Somanathan
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram
hsomanathan@iisertvm.ac.in - (Evolutionary Ecology)

Chemistry

Eluvathingal D. Jemmis
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
jemmis@iisc.ac.in - (Theoretical and Computational Chemistry)

Srinivasan Natarajan
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
snatarajan@iisc.ac.in - (Inorganic Materials Chemistry, Solid State Chemistry/Synthesis, Structure, Li-ion Battery Materials/Ceramic Pigments, Inorganic-Organic Hybrid Materials, Magnetic Materials)

N. Sathyamurthy
Bengaluru
nsathyamurthy@gmail.com - (Theoretical Chemistry)

Richard N. Zare
Stanford University, USA
zare@stanford.edu - (Laser Chemistry, Chemical Reactions at Molecular Level)

Earth System Sciences

Sunil Bajpai
Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee
sunilbajpai2001@yahoo.com - (Palaeontology)

S. Balakrishnan
Pondicherry University, Puducherry
balakrishnan.srinivasan@gmail.com - (Geochemistry and Geochronology)

Somnath Dasgupta
Kolkata
somnathdasg@gmail.com - (Metamorphic Petrology and Geochemistry)

Saibal Gupta
Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
saibl@gg.iitkgp.ac.in - (Petrology, Structure and Tectonics)

K. S. Krishna
Centre for Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
krishna@uohyd.ac.in - (Lithospheric dynamics, Tectonics, Plate tectonics, Marine geophysics)

Biswajit Mishra
Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
bmgg@gg.iitkgp.ac.in - (Ore Mineralogy and Ore Geochemistry)

Malay Mukul
Indian Institute of Technology-Bombay, Mumbai
malaymukul@iitb.ac.in - (Tectonics, Lithospheric Deformation Studies)

Rajeev Patnaik
Centre of Advanced Study in Geology, Panjab University, Chandigarh
rajeevpatnaik@gmail.com - (Vertebrate Palaeontology)

G. V. R. Prasad
University of Delhi, Delhi
guntupalli.vrprasad@gmail.com - (Vertebrate Palaeontology, Palaeo-biogeography)

N. V. Chalapathi Rao
Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
nvcr100@gmail.com - (Minerology and Igneous Petrology)

Dilip Saha
Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
dsaha@isical.ac.in - (Structure, Tectonics and Sedimentology)

Rajiv Sinha
Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
rsinha@iitk.ac.in - (River Science, Fluvial Geomorphology)

R. Srinivasan
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
srinimalu@gmail.com - (Solid Earth Sciences, Precambrian Geology)

Engineering

Gopalan Jagadeesh
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
jaggie@iisc.ac.in - (Experimental Hypersonics and Shockwave Dynamics)

D. Manjunath
IIT Bombay, Powai
dmanju@ee.iitb.ac.in – (Communication Engineering and Telecommunication Networks, History of Science, Engineering Education and Research in India)

G. Prathap
APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University, Thiruvananthapuram
gp@ktu.edu.in - (Computational Mechanics; Information Science)

K. Ramamurthy
Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai
vivek@iitm.ac.in - (Civil Engineering, Sustainable Construction Materials, Building Science and Engineering, Concrete Technology)

Saragur M. Srinidhi
Advanced Computing and Communications Society, Bengaluru
ssrinidhi@accsindia.org - (Communication Networks: Network Performance Analysis, Call Admission Control, Operations Research, High Performance Computing)

Satyam Suwas
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
satyamsuwas@iisc.ac.in - (Metallurgy: Crystallographic Texture, Materials Characterization, Mechanical Behaviour of Materials)

Shaligram Tiwari
IIT Madras, Chennai
shaligt@iitm.ac.in – (Fluid Mechanics and Heat Transfer, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning, CFD and Numerical Computational Techniques, Fluid-Structure Interaction, Vortex Enhanced Heat Transfer)

Shivam Tripathi
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Kanpur
shiva@iitk.ac.in - (Watershed Hydrology, Eco-hydrology, River Hydraulics)

Krishna Vasudevan
IIT Madras, Chennai
krishna@ee.iitm.ac.in – (Electrical Machines, Power Electronics, Microgrids, Motor Drives)

History and Philosophy of Science

Dhruv Raina
Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
dhruv@mail.jnu.ac.in - (History and Philosophy of Science, Society and Social Movements, History and Philosophy of Mathematics and Exact Sciences, The History of Contemporary Science)

Management Studies

M. H. Bala Subrahmanya
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
bala@iisc.ac.in - (Management Studies, Industrial Economics)

Mathematics

G. Rangarajan
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
rangaraj@iisc.ac.in - (Mathematics)

Medical Sciences

Sandeep M. Eswarappa
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
sandeep@iisc.ac.in - (Physiological and Pathological Angiogenesis)

Lakshmanan Krishnamurti
Emory University, Atlanta, GA
lakshmanan.krishnamurti@choa.org - (Haematology, Oncology)

Anand Krishnan
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi
anand.drk@gmail.com – (Public Health and Epidemiology: Noncommunicable diseases, Respiratory infections, Disease and mortality surveillance, Primary health care)

Urvakhsh Mehta
National Institute of Mental Health & Neurosciences (NIMHANS), Bengaluru
urvakhsh@gmail.com – (Mental Health, Clinical Neuroscience, Functional Brain Imaging, Neurophysiology, Cognitive Neuroscience)

Indraneel Mittra
Tata Memorial Centre-Advanced Centre for Treatment, Research and Education in Cancer, Navi Mumbai
indraneel.mittra@gmail.com - (Oncology)

V. Mohan
Madras Diabetes Research Foundation, Chennai; Dr Mohan’s Diabetes Specialities Centre, Chennai
drmohans@diabetes.ind.in – (Diabetes, Genomics, Epidemiology, Obesity, Unhealthy Diet, Physical Activity)

H. Paramesh
Bengaluru
drhparamesh@gmail.com - (Air Pollution and Health)

B. S. Shankaranarayana Rao
National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences, Bengaluru
bssrao.nimhans@gmail.com - (Neurophysiology)

U. S. Vishal Rao
Health Care Global Cancer Centre, Bengaluru
drvishalrao@gmail.com - (Surgical Oncology, Robotic Surgery)

Subrata Sinha
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi
sub_sinha@hotmail.com, sub_sinha2004@yahoo.co.in - (Oncology)

S. V. Subramanian
Harvard Center for Population and Development Studies, USA
svsubram@hsph.harvard.edu – (Population Health, Social Determinants of Health, Statistical Methodology, Epidemiology, Global Health)

Oceanography

A. C. Anil
National Institute of Oceanography, Goa
acanil@nio.org - (Biological Oceanography, Marine Ecology, Marine Biology)

P. N. Vinayachandran
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
vinay@iisc.ac.in - (Physical Oceanography, Ocean Modelling, Physical-Biological Interactions in Ocean)

Physics

Debajyoti Choudhury
University of Delhi, Delhi
debchou@physics.du.ac.in - (Particle Physics and Cosmology)

Justin David
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
justin@iisc.ac.in - (High Energy Physics, General Relativity, Mathematical Physics)

Swapan Kumar Ghosh
University of Mumbai, Mumbai
swapankghosh@gmail.com - (Soft Condensed Matter Physics, Theoretical Chemistry, Computational Material Science)

Pinaki Majumdar
Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Prayagraj
pinaki@hri.res.in - (Condensed Matter Physics)

K. P. Singh
Patiala
kulinderpal@gmail.com - (Astronomy and Astrophysics)

Tarun Souradeep
Raman Research Institute, Bengaluru
tarun@rri.res.in - (Cosmology, High Energy Physics, Early Universe)

Paul J. Wiita
San Carlos, USA
paul.wiita@gmail.com - (Astronomy)

Remote Sensing and Space Sciences

Ajai
Space Applications Centre (ISRO), Ahmedabad
ajai@sac.isro.gov.in - (Earth and Planetary Sciences, Remote Sensing Applications, Earth Science: Desertification, Glaciology, Coastal Zone Environment, Natural Resources Management, Lunar and Martian Geoscience)

S. Suresh Babu
Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, ISRO, Thiruvananthapuram
sureshsplvssc@gmail.com – (Space and Atmospheric Science, Planetary Science, Remote Sensing)

Surendra Pal
U R Rao Satellite Centre, Bengaluru
pal_surendra@hotmail.com - (RF Space Communications, Digital Communication and Satellite Navigation, Communication Satellites and Small Satellites)

Current Issue
Current Issue
Volume 123
Issue 6, 2022