ISSN  0011-3891
CURRENT SCIENCE ASSOCIATION
Current Science
A Fortnightly Journal of Research
 
 

Guest Editorial

The challenges of teaching undergraduate biology
Anand K. Bachhawat

The introduction of programmes in both old and new uni-versities and institutions that have taken up the cause of undergraduate (UG) biology is impacting its teaching in...

...read more

 

Editor

R. Srinivasan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
srinimalu@gmail.com - (Earth System Sciences)


Co-Editor

S. K. Satheesh, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
satheesh@caos.iisc.ernet.in - (Climate Sciences)


Associate Editors

B. Ananthanarayan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
bananthanarayan@gmail.com - (Particle Physics and Field Theory)

E. Arunan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
arunan@ipc.iisc.ernet.in - (Inorganic and Physical Chemistry)

K. N. Ganeshaiah, University of Agricultural Sciences, Bengaluru
knganeshaiah@gmail.com

P. C. Kesavan, M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation, Chennai
pckesavan@mssrf.res.in - (Agricultural Sustainability Sciences)

Giridhar Madras, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
giridhar@chemeng.iisc.ernet.in - (Chemical Engineering)

P. P. Mujumdar, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
pradeep@civil.iisc.ernet.in - (Civil Engineering)

V. Nagaraja, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru
vraj@jncasr.ac.in - (Molecular Biology)

G. Rangarajan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
rangaraj@math.iisc.ernet.in - (Mathematics)

Munivenkatappa Sanjappa, University of Agricultural Sciences, Bengaluru
sanjappam@ymail.com - (Botany – Taxonomy and Conservation)


The Editorial Board

Physics

J. N. Goswami, Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad
goswami@prl.res.in - (Planetary and Space Sciences, Solar System: Formation and Evolution, Geo- and Cosmo-chronology, Solar–Stellar relationship)

Sulabha Kulkarni, Pune
s.kulkarni@iiserpune.ac.in - (Condensed Matter Physics, Nanotechnology, Surface Science, Materials Science)

Sunil Mukhi, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune
sunil.mukhi@iiserpune.ac.in - (Quantum Field Theory and String Theory)

Srikanth Sastry, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru
sastry@jncasr.ac.in - (Statistical Mechanics, Soft Matter Physics, Chemical Physics)

K. P. Singh, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai
singh@tifr.res.in - (Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation for X-ray Astronomy, Multi wave [opt-radio-X-ray-gamma-ray] Studies of Active Galactic Nuclei, X-ray Astronomy in General – or X-ray Emission from Cosmic Sources)

R. Srianand, Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune
anand@iucaa.in - (Astrophysics)

V. Venkataraman, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
venki@physics.iisc.ernet.in - (Condensed Matter Physics)

Paul J. Wiita, The College of New Jersey, New Jersey
wiitap@tcnj.edu - (Astronomy)

Chemistry

S. Chandrasekhar, CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad
srivaric@iict.res.in - (Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Synthesis of Complex Natural Products, Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Discovery, Organocatalysis, Use of PEG as a Green Solvent and Green Chemistry, Synthesis of Unusual Beta Amino Acids and Peptidomimetics)

Arun Chattopadhyay, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
arun@iitg.ernet.in - (Nanoscale Science and Technology, Physical Chemistry, Materials Science, Nanobiotechnology)

Shobhana Narasimhan, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru
shobhana@jncasr.ac.in - (Computational Nanoscience and Nanomagnetism)

Srinivasan Natarajan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
snatarajan@sscu.iisc.ernet.in - (Inorganic Materials Chemistry, Solid State Chemistry/Synthesis, Structure, Li-ion Battery Materials/Ceramic Pigments, Inorganic-Organic Hybrid Materials, Magnetic Materials)

N. Sathyamurthy, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali
nsath@iisermohali.ac.in - (Theoretical Chemistry)

A. Sundaresan, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru
sundaresan@jncasr.ac.in - (Solid State Chemistry, Synthesis and Characterization of Oxides, Superconductivity, Magnetism Ferroelectricity and Multiferroicity)

Richard N. Zare, Stanford University, USA
zare@stanford.edu - (Laser Chemistry, Chemical Reactions at Molecular Level)

Biology

Mathematical Modelling in Biology

N. V. Joshi, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
nvjoshi@ces.iisc.ernet.in - (Statistical Analysis, Mathematical Modelling in Biology)

Microbiology, Physiology, Endocrinology, Neurobiology, Molecular Genetics, Genomics, Developmental Biology, Structural Biology

Gaiti Hasan, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bengaluru
gaiti@ncbs.res.in - (Molecular Biology, Genetics, Neuroscience, Cell Signalling)

S. Krishnaswamy, Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai
mkukrishna@gmail.com - (Structural Biology)

Vinod Kumar, University of Delhi, Delhi
vkumar@zoology.du.ac.in - (Regulatory Biology, Biological Rhythms, Neuroendocrine Control of Seasonality, Behavioural Neuroscience)

L. S. Shashidhara, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune
ls.shashidhara@iiserpune.ac.in - (Evolution, Genetics and Developmental Biology)

Yogesh Shouche, National Center for Cell Science, Pune
yogesh@nccs.res.in - (Microbial Diversity, Vector Biology, Genetic Diversity of Microbes)

Vidita Vaidya, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai
vvaidya@tifr.res.in - (Neuroscience, Anxiety and Depression, Hippocampal Plasticity, Stress and Animal Models of Mood Disorders)

Ecology, Evolution, Animal Behaviour, Conservation Biology, Taxonomy

K. Chandrashekara, University of Agricultural Sciences, GKVK, Bengaluru
sec_uas@yahoo.co.in - (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Insect Ecology and Behaviour, Biodiversity and Bio-prospecting, Insect Pest Management)

Priya Davidar, Pondicherry University, Puducherry
pdavidar.ees@pondiuni.edu.in - (Pollination Biology, Conservation Biology, Biodiversity, Ornithology)

Vinita Gowda, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhopal
gowdav@iiserb.ac.in - (Plant Ecology, Evolution and Taxonomy, Systematics (Phylogenetics) and Population Genetics, Behavioural Biology and Conservation Biology)

Krushnamegh Kunte, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bengaluru
krushnamegh@ncbs.res.in - (Ecology, Evolution, Genetics and Conservation Biology)

Harini Nagendra, Azim Premji University, Bengaluru
harini.nagendra@apu.edu.in - (Ecological Sciences, Landscape Ecology, Urban Ecology, Social-ecological systems)

Naveen Namboothri, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
naveen.namboo@gmail.com - (Marine Biology, Coral Reef Ecology, Marine Resource Management and Population Demography)

Barry Noon, Colorado State University, USA
Barry.Noon@ColoState.EDU - (Ecology, Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Biology)

Suhel Quader, Nature Conservation Foundation, Mysuru
suhelq@ncf-india.org - (Evolution, Ecology, Citizen Science)

V. V. Ramamurthy, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi
vvr3@vsnl.com - (Taxonomy)

Mewa Singh, University of Mysore, Mysuru
msingh@psychology.uni-mysore.ac.in - (Sociobiology and Wildlife Ecology)

Hema Somanathan, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram
hsomanathan@iisertvm.ac.in - (Evolutionary Ecology)

Maria Thaker, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
mthaker@ces.iisc.ernet.in - (Animal Behaviour, Ecology and Physiology, Field Endocrinology, Sexual Selection and Predator–Prey Interactions)

Abi Tamim Vanak, Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment, Bengaluru
avanak@atree.org - (Ecology, Conservation Science, Savanna Ecosystems)

Earth System Sciences

Palaeontology, Palaeogeography, Palaeoclimate

Sunil Bajpai, Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaeobotany, Lucknow
director@bsip.res.in - (Palaeontology)

R. Ramesh, National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar
kartaveeryarjuna@gmail.com - (Palaeoclimate and Oceanography)

Ashok Sahni, 98, Mahatma Gandhi Marg, Lucknow
ashok.sahni@gmail.com - (Palaeontology and Palaeogeography)

Petrology

Somnath Dasgupta, Assam University, Silchar
vc@aus.ac.in - (Metamorphic Petrology and Geochemistry)

N. V. Chalapathi Rao, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
nvcr100@gmail.com - (Petrology)

Structure and Tectonics

Saibal Gupta, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
saibl@gg.iitkgp.ernet.in - (Petrology, Structure and Tectonics)

Malay Mukul, Indian Institute of Technology-Bombay, Mumbai
malaymukul@iitb.ac.in - (Tectonics, Lithospheric Deformation Studies)

Dilip Saha, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
dsaha@isical.ac.in - (Structure, Tectonics and Sedimentology)

Economic Geology

Biswajit Mishra, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
bmgg@gg.iitkgp.ernet.in - (Ore Mineralogy and Ore Geochemistry)

Geomorphology and Fluvial Processes

Rajiv Sinha, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
rsinha@iitk.ac.in - (River Science, Fluvial Geomorphology)

Archaeology

Ravi Korisettar, Karnatak University, Dharwad
korisettar@gmail.com - (Archaeology)

Atmospheric Sciences

K. Krishnamoorthy, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
krishnamoorthy@caos.iisc.ernet.in - (Atmospheric and Ionospheric Science)

Anil V. Kulkarni, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
anilkulkarni@caos.iisc.ernet.in - (Cryosphere, Glaciers and Climate Change)

A. R. Ravishankara, Colorado State University, USA
a.r.ravishankara@colostate.edu - (Atmospheric Chemistry, Climate Change, Ozone Depletion)

J. Srinivasan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
jayes@caos.iisc.ernet.in - (Climate Modelling)

Oceanography

P. N. Vinayachandran, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
vinay@caos.iisc.ernet.in - (Physical Oceanography, Ocean Modelling, Physical–Biological Interactions in Ocean)

A. C. Anil, National Institute of Oceanography, Goa
acanil@nio.org - (Biological Oceanography, Marine Ecology, Marine Biology)

Medical Science

Anurag Bhargava, Yenepoya Medical College, Mangaluru
anuragb17@gmail.com - (General Medicine)

Lakshmanan Krishnamurti, Emory University, Atlanta, GA
lakshmanan.krishnamurti@emory.edu - (Haematology, Oncology)

A. T. K. Rau, M.S. Ramaiah Medical College, Bengaluru
atkrau@gmail.com - (Paediatric Medicine, Haematology, Oncology)

Alok Srivastava, Christian Medical College, Vellore
aloks@cmcvellore.ac.in - (Medicine, Haematology, Stem Cell Transplantation and Translational Research)

Soumya Swaminathan, Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi
doctorsoumya@yahoo.com - (Infectious Diseases and Paediatrics)

Remote Sensing and Space Sciences

Ajai, Space Applications Center (ISRO), Ahmedabad
ajai@sac.isro.gov.in - (Earth and Planetary Sciences, Remote Sensing Applications, Earth Science: Desertification, Glaciology, Coastal Zone Environment, Natural Resources Management, Lunar and Martian Geoscience)

R. R. Navalgund, Indian Space Research Organisation, Bengaluru
navalrr@gmail.com - (Remote Sensing/Earth Observation)

Engineering

Atul H. Chokshi, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
achokshi@materials.iisc.ernet.in - (Ceramics and Nanomaterials)

Gopalan Jagadeesh, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
jaggie@aero.iisc.ernet.in - (Experimental Hypersonics and Shockwave Dynamics)

Sukumar Mishra, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, New Delhi
sukumar@ee.iitd.ac.in - (Power System, Renewable Energy: Power System Control, Photovoltaic Energy Management, Grid Code)

G. Prathap, National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram
gp@niist.res.in - (Structural Mechanics and Information Science)

K. Ramamurthy, Indian Institute of Technology, Chennai
vivek@iitm.ac.in - (Civil Engineering, Sustainable Construction Materials, Building Science and Engineering, Concrete Technology)

Saragur M. Srinidhi, Advanced Computing and Communications Society, Bengaluru
ssrinidhi@accsindia.org - (Communication Networks: Network Performance Analysis, Call Admission Control, Operations Research, High Performance Computing)

Satyam Suwas, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
satyamsuwas@materials.iisc.ernet.in - (Metallurgy: Crystallographic texture, Materials characterization, Mechanical behaviour of materials)

Agricultural Sciences, Horticultural Sciences and Sustainability

M. Anandraj, Bengaluru
arajiisr@gmail.com - (Plant Pathology of Horticultural Crops, Mycology, Plant Growth Promoting Organisms, Host–Pathogen Interaction)

Management Studies

M. H. Bala Subrahmanya, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
bala@mgmt.iisc.ernet.in - (Management Studies, Industrial Economics)

History and Philosophy of Science

Dhruv Raina, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
dhruv@mail.jnu.ac.in - (History and Philosophy of Science, Society and Social Movements, History and Philosophy of Mathematics and Exact Sciences, The History of Contemporary Science)


Working Committee, Current Science Association

P. Balaram, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru

N. Balakrishnan (Vice President), Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru

R. Gadagkar, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru

K. N. Ganesh, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune

R. B. Grover, Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai

Kiran Kumar, Indian Space Research Organisation, Bengaluru

R. A. Mashelkar (Vice President), National Chemical Laboratory, Pune

V. Nagaraja (Secretary), Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru

R. Narasimha (Previous President), Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru

M. Rajeevan Nair, Ministry of Earth Science, New Delhi

V. S. Ramamurthy (President), National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bengaluru

Ramakrishna Ramaswamy, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi

Ashutosh Sharma, Department of Science and Technology, New Delhi

R. Srinivasan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru

Vijayalakshmi Ravindranath (Treasurer), Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru


Editorial staff:
R. Anuradha, Chandrika Ramesh, D. L. Geetha, G. Madhavan, K. P. Madhu, V. Rajitha, N. Subashini, V. Venkateswari,
and M. S. Venugopal

Circulation and Accounts:
H. R. Ananthamurthy, B. S. Asha, Meghana B. Yadav, A. Shashidhar, T. M. Tejeswini

©2017 Current Science Association, Bengaluru. All Rights Reserved